Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-28-2023, 03:48 PM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 185
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

Quote:
Originally Posted by redmount View Post
but PT Ultimate 2022.12
not sure he updated yet...
Ah, good catch. Then maybe it is only an Intel thing? We'll find out soon. I started a case with Avid too so it's being looked at.
__________________
2019 MacBook Pro 16,1 (Intel)
Mac OS 13.4.1 (Ventura)
PT 23.6.0.110 (Ultimate)
TB Native + Omni at home
Apogee Duet 3 on the road
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-28-2023, 05:46 PM
moogboy100 moogboy100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 206
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

It’s a pro Tools thing. A math glitch
__________________
🖥️ Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.9 | Mac Studio M1 Max (64 GB) | Ventura 13.5.2 | Focusrite Red 4Pre
💻 Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.6 | MacBook Pro '18 i5 (16 GB) | Ventura 13.4
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-07-2023, 12:56 PM
ccal ccal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 1
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

I am reporting the same error. Another user I know has the same issues. We are both on PC's with different processors. Does anyone have a solution yet? Only on certain tempos as far as we can tell.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-07-2023, 02:26 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

The issue is random here.

Tempo set to 159. Session is 48KHz/24. When clicking around quarter notes sometimes the counter shows 959 and sometimes it shows 0 (which would be correct). I see no rhyme or reason to why it's 959 one time and 0 the other.

Ventura 13.3 and PT 2023.3
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-07-2023, 05:30 PM
fuzzles fuzzles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 48
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

Confirming one more here experiencing the issue with ruler displaying incorrect grid/beat position. I'm also experiencing disappearing bar numbers in the ruler in the new version. May have been after changing the tempo. For example, it'll show bar 6, 7 & 8 and then no more bar numbers 'til 12. Good to know the bars starting on 4/459 instead of 1 is a common issue. Hope there's an update soon!

Pro Tools 2023.3
macOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 64GB DDR
__________________
Lineman for the County
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-08-2023, 09:13 AM
Terry Barnett Terry Barnett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Essex
Posts: 10
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

+1 here.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-08-2023, 10:53 AM
nednednerb's Avatar
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 586
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

Just throwing out a wild conjecture:

Over the passed few months, I have seen, here or there, people talking about the lining up of ticks, of Melodyne edits, of talking about automation, talking about deviation of samples and rates....

I suspect randomly that there might have been attempts to fix or upgrade the code regarding the timing of things especially in regards to differences in implementation on Intel or Silicon, which has ended up in this bug.

We often don't get huge detail into these inner workings. The above is just a random guess, in some contradiction to the views expressed above that this should never have happened, nothing was wrong with this.

It is unfortunate, but there are some major changes occurring under the hood, right?
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio voiceovers & testing software | 2nd gig: music software tutoring | hobby: electronic music //
||software: Ventura 13.4 | PT Studio 2023.6 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB | OWC Thunderbolt Hub and Thunderbolt 3 Dock //
||devices: Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT condensers | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | 32" 4k LG display | Sennheiser HD 600 HP //
||automation: SoundFlow | Stream Deck+ | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse | MacOS Shortcuts //
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-08-2023, 11:20 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 620
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

I can confirm this bug is on 2023.3 on Intel and M1 native, macOS Monterey 12.6.4 and macOS 13.3.1

Rather disconcerting to say the least.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.8.0, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, macOS 12.7
Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.9/HD Driver 2023.3 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, MTRX Studio I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.

Last edited by off the wall; 04-08-2023 at 12:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-08-2023, 01:22 PM
gandlz gandlz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 68
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

same here on Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-08-2023, 01:56 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,460
Default Re: 2023.3 Grid Problems [PT-299731]

Have y'all considered that maybe Avid is just doing their part to humanize music again? Getting away from a strict grid?
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flipping main and sub counter falcowe Pro Tools 2020 5 08-27-2020 02:03 PM
Main counter question (pt 8) whitetar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-18-2011 09:46 PM
Grid mode, shuffle mode, spot mode and slip mode. RogTaylor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-24-2010 10:30 AM
Main Counter Question RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-11-2010 09:53 AM
Main counter mode not switching using "counter" switch bashville ICON & C|24 2 08-07-2009 04:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com